TL;DR
Get kitchen gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Amazon announced Ring’s first smart lock, which has a thumb-turn dial that can generate emergency power if its rechargeable battery dies. The lock is expected in the US in early 2027 for $249, pending FCC approval; Amazon has not said exactly how many turns are needed.
Amazon has announced Ring’s first smart lock, designed to let someone generate emergency power by turning its thumb-turn dial if the rechargeable battery dies. The company says a few turns should provide enough power to unlock the door, offering an alternative to a physical backup key or an external battery connection. The lock is expected to reach the US in early 2027 for $249, pending FCC approval.
Unlike smart locks that use a hidden USB port or contacts for a 9-volt battery, Ring’s design puts the emergency charging mechanism in the interior thumb-turn dial. Amazon has not specified the number of turns required. It says turning the dial a few times can provide enough energy to unlock the door and fully recharge the lock’s battery.
The lock supports several ways to manage entry. Users can unlock it with a fingerprint reader or a backlit touchscreen keypad, register multiple people and schedule access. Temporary codes can be set to expire automatically. The lock can also be controlled and monitored through the Ring app or by voice using compatible Alexa devices, according to the product announcement.
Ring says installation requires no wiring because the lock runs on its replaceable Quick Release Ultra Battery Pack. It communicates with other devices through Amazon’s Sidewalk network rather than relying on home Wi-Fi. Remote controls and alerts depend on having adequate Sidewalk coverage at the home, the source report noted. The lock does not include a camera.
Emergency Access Without a Backup Key
A dead battery can leave a smart-lock user outside unless the lock has an alternate way to provide power or entry. Ring’s dial-based approach is meant to make that recovery step part of the lock itself, rather than requiring a spare key or a separate battery. That could be useful for residents who arrive to find a depleted battery, although the company has not published details such as the turning effort or how the mechanism performs in regular use.
The feature does not remove every dependency. The lock still uses a rechargeable battery, and remote management relies on the Sidewalk network and its coverage. People considering it will also need to weigh the $249 price, its planned release date and the absence of an integrated camera. The product announcement describes an emergency power feature, not a guarantee that every lockout scenario will be resolved by turning the dial.
Ring smart lock emergency power dial
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Ring’s Lock Fits Its Ecosystem
The announcement marks Ring’s entry into the smart-lock category. According to the report, other smart locks commonly provide emergency power through an external connection, such as a concealed USB port or metal contacts for a 9-volt battery. Ring instead places the charging function in the thumb-turn control.
Ring’s lock is part of a broader set of security products announced by Amazon. The report says the company also introduced new 4K cameras, including an indoor model with a physical privacy shutter, and a 2K pan-and-tilt indoor camera. Those products are separate from the lock: because the Smart Lock has no camera, users who want video of people at the door would need a compatible Ring doorbell or camera.
The lock is planned in black, silver and brass. Its expected US release is in early 2027, subject to FCC approval. The announcement does not give a specific launch day or a confirmed availability date beyond that window.
“A few times”
— Amazon, as reported by The Verge
smart lock with manual emergency charging
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Battery Recovery Details Still Missing
Amazon has not disclosed how many turns are needed to generate emergency power, how much time the process takes or how the dial behaves if the battery is fully depleted. The announcement also does not explain whether repeated emergency charging could affect battery life, or provide independent testing of the feature.
The planned US release remains conditional on FCC approval, and no exact date has been given. The source report does not specify whether or when the lock will be sold outside the United States. Sidewalk availability may also vary by location, which could affect remote access and alerts even if the lock can still be operated locally.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
FCC Review and 2027 Availability
The next stated milestone is the lock’s expected US launch in early 2027, provided it receives FCC approval. Amazon has not announced a precise release date or additional technical specifications for the dial-powered recovery function. Prospective buyers will need those details, along with information about coverage and battery performance, to assess how the lock would fit their homes.
smart lock with fingerprint keypad
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
How does the Ring Smart Lock get power when its battery dies?
Amazon says users can turn the lock’s thumb-turn dial to generate enough power to unlock the door. The company says a few turns may also recharge the battery.
How many turns does it take to unlock the door?
Amazon has not specified an exact number. The company describes the required effort only as “a few times.”
When will Ring’s smart lock be available, and how much will it cost?
The lock is expected in the US in early 2027 for $249, pending FCC approval. A specific release date has not been announced.
Does the Ring Smart Lock include a camera?
No. The lock does not include a camera. The report says users who want video coverage can pair it with a Ring doorbell or a compatible Ring security camera.
Does the lock work through home Wi-Fi?
Ring says the lock connects through Amazon’s Sidewalk network rather than relying on home Wi-Fi. Remote access and alerts depend on adequate Sidewalk coverage where the lock is installed.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
